A TERRIBLE CONFESSION

Holy Cross Church

329 West 42nd Street

New York, New York

 

 

Father:

” How long since your last confession.”

 

Man:

” I am an Atheist, I’ve never confessed anything to anyone.”

 

Father:

” Why have you come here today?”

 

Man:

” I come for advice…I need to talk with someone, someone like you.”

 

Father:

“Go on my son, tell me what’s so heavy on your heart and mind.”

 

Man:

” My daughter, she’s only sixteen and …and, uh, she’s ,she’s  pregnant!”

 

Father:

” Go on my son…”

 

Man:

” My daughter Kim, she’s just a baby herself and she’s pregnant! I don’t know what to say…I just, I’m at a loss for words here.”

 

Father:

” Your wife, where is she?”

 

Man:

” My wife, Kim’s mother she died when Kim was just six years old. It’s just me and Kim now.”

 

Father:

” Go on my son, tell me everything.”

 

Man:

” I found out that Kim was pregnant through my sister Faye; Kim goes to Faye whenever she has any problems that  relate to being a woman. Faye told me Kim was nine weeks pregnant. Kim does not want to have the baby, she wants to abort it.”

 

Father:

“Go on my son tell me everything.”

 

Man:

” I don’t want Kim to have the baby either…I , uh, I, uh, I can’t sleep anymore…I’m afraid, my dream is always the same dream.

And so, I don’t sleep, it’s hell…I just lay in bed and stare up at the ceiling.”

 

Father:

” Tell me everything about your dream, go on my son, tell me of your dream.”

 

Man:

” Well, I’m at the hospital and Kim has delivered the baby and the baby looks just like Kim, I turn to smile  at my sister Faye and Kim , she, she closes her eyes and she’s, she’s dead!

I’m holding the baby in my arms and the baby has the blackest eyes I’ve ever seen; the pupils of her eyes they glisten like two small pools of fresh black ink under a spotlight. My daughter lay still and motionless and my grandbaby is vibrant and alive in my arms. The doctor walks in and shakes his head and he tells me my daughter died because I didn’t care about the first abortion I made happen.”

 

Father:

” This is not your daughter’s first abortion?”

 

Man:

” YES. NO!  I mean…my daughter has never had an abortion and I don’t want her to have one.”

 

Father:

” our dreams have meaning… what did the doctor mean  when he said you didn’t care about the first abortion?”

 

Man:

” My wife, Kim’s mother, oh God! She was a very beautiful woman, and uh, uh, there was this man, uh, he  uh,  he worked in our shoe store, he was a very handsome black man and uh, umm, my wife, Brenda she, and this man, this black man, they, they

became lovers…and my wife, my wife, Brenda, she, she became pregnant.

I forced her to have an abortion and she died on the abortion table. I never told Kim how her mother really died.

So, I don’t want my daughter to die like her mother.”

 

Father:

” Why do you think she’ll die like her mother?”

 

Man:

” She’s pregnant by a black boy and she doesn’t want to have the baby.”

 

 

****************************************************************************************************************

Read my new essay:

MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. 50 YEARS LATER

http://voices.yahoo.com/martin-luther-king-jr-50-years-later-12263634.html

 

Charles Micheaux

New York, New York     

One thought on “A TERRIBLE CONFESSION

  1. Pingback: A TERRIBLE CONFESSION | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

