A LONG ROAD HOME

Fiction by Charles Micheaux

I never will forget my daddy’s expression when I came home that morning.
I never told anybody what happened to me that night, only my daddy knew.
It was June 6, 1966 and I’d taken my sweetheart, Norma Jean to the drive-in movies in
Greensboro.

I was driving my daddy’s big old duce and a quarter; yes sir, it was a mighty fine night.
Norma Jean at my side and as we drove up to her house, she kept looking in the mirror and she kept asking me about her hair.
I kept telling her her hair was fine and not to worry.
I pulled up to her house to see her momma and daddy waiting for us on the porch.

I jumped out of my daddy’s duce and a quarter and quickly ran to the passenger side of the car and opened the door for
Norma Jean. Norma Jean kissed me on the cheek then walked inside the house with her parents.
Once I got back into the car I opened up the glove compartment and there was my daddy’s big old 44 magnum.

I pulled the gun from the glove box and laid it on the seat next to me and I thought about the KKK.
My daddy told me terrible stories about the ruthlessness of these evil crackers.
I pulled out my pack of cigarettes from my shirt pocket and I pulled a single stick from the pack with my lips.

I reached down and grabbed the car’s lighter and as I picked up the lighter it slipped from my finger’s and fell
underneath my shirt. The hot metal lighter made contact with my chest and stomach burning me at each tumble.
Ilet out a holler and cussed worse than a drunk sailor.

I let go of the car’s steering wheel and my daddy’s duce and a quarter swayed wildly to the right, then to the left, then bounced hard off the road and sent me flying off into pottersfield cemetery.
It was pitch dark and the moon seemed to be hidden behind strong storm clouds.

I lifted my head and then I began to feel a spinning sensation; I closed my eyes and a flash of red-pink appeared in my mind’s eye. My whole body began to shake and I tried to fight off the shock, but I was so weak and I felt myself slipping helplessly into blackness.

In the morning when I awoke…my daddy’s big duce and a quarter was gone!
My daddy’s gun was gone too.
I shook my head to shake off the haze and then I thought to myself…
This is going to be… A LONG ROAD HOME.

*********************************************************

You can watch my videos at YouTube: Charles Micheaux

Leave a Reply

