TWO BROTHERS TOO LOVE

A work of Short Fiction by Charles Micheaux
**********************************************
[MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. DID NOT DIE SO WE WOULD KEEP OUR MOUTHS OPEN AND SILENT]
______________________________________________________________________________________

It was a balmy peaceful evening as my wife and I sat on the front porch; it was the first saturday in July and me and Doretha was watching the fire works light up the Mississippi sky. I could not help but think about my time in Iraq during Operation Desert Storm.

War is hell and don’t let nobody ever tell you different.
Tonight feels strange…something is wrong somewhere, somebody ain’t gonna seen the dawn of morning.
I swear! This ain’t a night I’d wanna be away from my Doretha.

Feel that breeze? That breeze that pushes the leaves ever so lightly; that there is the breath od death in the air, that’s just gone by.

Well I guess I should get ready for bed, got to get up early in the morning so I can get to church early.

“Hey suga, I think we should call it a night and try and get some sleep…who dat on the phone?
Hey, honey…what’s the matter? Why you look like dat?
They done WHAT?
WHO! Who done such a thing!

Did they arrest the sum bitch?
Now why would anybody want to kill Craig?

What was he doing in Brandon?

Where dey taking the body?
Hot damn! What kinds of people would do a God awful thing to another human being?

Does big mamma know yet?

I really thought we was done with all that Jim-Crow (KKK) bullshit.
GOT DAMN IT!

They saying a whiteboy ran over Craig in his pick-up truck?

Craig must be broken up a mess…there ain’t no way I’m taking you to see his body.
DORETHA!
I said NO!
YOU ain’t going with me and that’s final!

Get your clothes on that you wanna wear, I’m gonna drop you off at big momma’s house and me and jimmy-Lee we’s gonna go to the morgue to identify Craig’s body.

You go get your clothes on so we can get ready and go…hurry up suga.”

What kinds of folks live in BRANDON MISSISSIPPI?
Are they Godless?
How can a family raise a child to be filled with so much hate for another human being?
To actually kill another pesron for no reason other than the color of his skin is beyond my understanding.

*****************************************************************

When I returned from the morgue I went straight to big momma’s house and my wife Doretha was asleep on the couch,
I walked over to her and I watched her sleep.
She slept so quiet that it reminded me of death; quickly did I kiss her to awken her from slumber.
My sweet wife raised up from the couch and we embraced and the tears feel from my cheeks.
I held my wife’s trembling body in my arms and I thought as she sobbed:

“Two brothers now…Doretha only has two brothers, just two, now…

two brothers too love.

********************************************
CNN PRESENTS 11-23-11 Program
Story of hate crime.
The killing took place June 26, 2011

James Craig Anderson – real life muder victim.

Daryl Deadmon – real life killer.

Daryl Deadmon was sentenced to life in prison; Google this story.
*****************************************************************

________________________________________________________________________
Read my most popular essay:
George Washington Carver Trailblazer for All Americans
http://voices.yahoo.com/george-washington-carver-trailblazer-all-americans-10953848.html

One thought on “TWO BROTHERS TOO LOVE

  1. Pingback: TWO BROTHERS TOO LOVE | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

