REMEMBERING AMERICA’S VETERANS

“Only the dead have seen the end of war.” –George Santayana

My fondest memory as a boy happened one day while playing hide and seek in my father’s suit closet I discovered
my father’s military uniform. I remember as if it were yesterday, the heavy suit bag just above my head as I sat on the floor
of my father’s closet. I decided to unzip the suit bag and look inside and there for the first time I saw my father’s Army
uniform, I was transfixed, I wondered if the Army let him keep his pistol too?

I laid the heavy suit bag across the bed and searched the suit bag hurriedly to find my father’s gun.
My older sister burst into my parents bedroom, then my couzin came behind her, then it was my older brother and
finally my mother came in and sat down on the bed next to me. My mother stroked the sleeve of the dress uniform gingerly
and she looked wistful.

My father walked into the room and when I looked into his eyes they had quickly filled and the tears raced down his cheeks.
My mother told us to go back down stairs and get ready for supper.

The uniform of our service members should be a constant reminder to everyone of the great sacrifice our service women and men make each and everyday of their lives. Recently two chief warrant officers were killed when their Apache attack helicopter crashed during a training exercise in Boise, Idaho.
Both men were assigned to the 1-183rd Attack Reconnaisance Battalion headquartered at Gowen Airfield.
The dangers that face our service men and women are many and yet each day they proudly wear the uniform and do their duty.

Finally, one Captain Nathan Hale, a twenty-one-year old soldier was captured behind enemy lines while on recnnaissance for
George Washington and was hanged by the British Red Coats, 1776.

“I only regret that I have but one life to lose for muy country.”–Captain Nathan Hale

Let us always remember the great sacrifice of our women and men in uniform for they are the heart of America.

One thought on “REMEMBERING AMERICA’S VETERANS

  1. Pingback: REMEMBERING AMERICA’S VETERANS | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

