Je l’aime quand me’me ( I love her nevertheless)

Short fiction by Charles Micheaux

Wife (femme)
Love (Aimer)
I love her (Je l’aime)
_________________________________________

“The past is never dead. It’s not even past.” –William Faulkner

Charles de Gaulle Airport
Paris, France

“ATTENTION!
Flight 666 from New York will arrive at gate 13-A.
ATTENTION.”

Femme:
“Avez-vous faim?”
“Are you hungry?”

Peter:
“Non.”
“No.”

Femme:
“Yat- il quelque chose qui te tracasse?”
“Is there something bothering you?”

Peter:
“Je l’ aime.”
“I love her.”

Femme:
“Je ne comprends pas!”
“I don’t understand!”

Peter:
“Je ne peux pas croire qu’il lui etait.
“I can’s beleive it was her.”

Femme:
“PETER! What are you talking about!”

Peter:
“This man, sitting next to me on the plane, he seemed to be a good man; he, he introduced me to his wife.
He, he, he, this man, the one sitting next to me, he was the husband of my first wife, Simone.”

Femme:
“Is this why so many tears fall now…here, take my hankerchief; please stop crying…
PETER! Stop it.
Now. Please get a hold of yourself.
Peter, please, I love you.”

Peter:
“Simone, she, she , she was… she was sitting between us on the plane.
Two husbands, one wife.
I felt her so deeply in my soul.
I wanted to cry out like some wounded animal, I wanted to stand up and tear my shirt off enraged.
When the plane landed after eight hours my legs felt numb and so I just sat there waiting for everyone
to leave the plane. I looked out the window and my mind raced back to happy times Simone and I shared together.

Simone, my first wife, she still wore “Givenchy” the perfume I selected for her so many years ago, she still wore.
I realized in the very moments of her departure, that I, I love her still.
Mon cheri, Je l’aime quand me’me.”

*********************************************************
You can watch my videos @ YouTube: Charles Micheaux

Leave a Reply

