Greatest Number of Black Millionaires on Planet Earth Atlanta, GA. (Updated 2017)

“Richest Negro street in the world.”
–Mayor John Wesley Dobbs

Mayor Dobbs coined this phrase to boast of Black wealth on Auburn Avenue in Atlanta.

Ernie Suggs Atlanta Journal Constitution Reporter wrote a wonderful article just yesterday called:

“Auburn Avenue at the heart of Atlanta’s black community.”

In this wonderful series article on Black History Ernie Suggs tells us how important that one street in Atlanta was to all of Black America. No other street in the world at that time could boast of black wealth that equaled the commerce of those Black business women and men.
In the article there is a claim that at one time in American history, Auburn Ave was known as the richest Negro street in the world.

This boast was often repeated by then Mayor of Atlanta, John Wesley Dobbs.
You will note, the good mayor did not say the richest street in America.
He said, “Auburn Avenue is the richest Negro street in the world.”

The good mayor was telling the truth.
Auburn Avenue was the most wealthy Black Dollar street in the world.

Today, right now, as I speak to each of you, Atlanta, Georgia holds the greatest number of Black Millionaires on the planet earth.

Shall I repeat this truth one more time for you?

Atlanta holds the greatest number of Black Millionaires on the planet earth.
Note, I did not say America!

I said the planet.

In 1985 I was training at an investment Banking firm on Park Avenue in New York City.
Our office was right across from Major League Baseball Commissioner’s office.
My job as a first year trainee was to read every major newspaper looking for
high net worth prospects; my boos told me not to speak with anyone with a net worth under
five million dollars.

One morning at my desk with coffee in hand I was reading The New York Times and there in the paper I read this fantastic headline:

“THE GREATEST NUMBER OF BLACK MILLIONAIRES ON PLANET EARTH…ATLANTA, GA;
My jaw dropped and I almost chocked to death on the piece of bagel in my mouth.
I ran to the CEO of my firm with article in hand and I lost all grace as I burst into his office.
I asked my boos to read the article which he did and I paid close attention to his facial expression
which did not change. I was perplexed.

He gingerly laid the newspaper down and looked at me like…”Well, what’s the big deal Charlie?”
I asked with excitement:
“IS it TRUE?”

My boss smiled and said:
“Very.”

I did my own research on the matter and to my astonishment Atlanta has had the greatest number of
Black millionaires on the planet earth for the past 60 years.

Black History is truly, Amazing.

Recently President-Elect Donald J. Trump send out a tweet that was a lie and in very poor taste against the great city of Atlanta.

“Congressman John Lewis should spend more time on fixing and helping his district, which is in horrible shape and falling apart.” –Donald J. Trump

No city in America has more opportunity for Black Americans than the great city of Atlanta which is the district that John Lewis serves.

Charles Micheaux
Atlanta, Georgia

********************
You can watch Oscar Micheaux films @ YouTube.

One thought on “Greatest Number of Black Millionaires on Planet Earth Atlanta, GA. (Updated 2017)

  1. Pingback: Greatest Number of Black Millionaires on Planet Earth Atlanta, GA. (Updated) | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

