The principal dancer keeps pushing forward

“Keep alive the incentive to push further.”
–Dag Hammarskjold

My dear and most beloved Apache grandmother often told me great stories regarding
my Native American heritage and my favorite stories had to do with Geronimo, the greatest
of Apache warriors.
Over the years the second favorite story is one my grandmother told me which I find myself
telling often to young men trying to get a head in life. The story at hand is a true story my grandmother shared with me when I was about 12.

The greatest of all the Indian dancers were gathered and the whole town came out to see these
highly skilled dancers perform.At the back of the crowd of onlookers there was this man who began
to push forward through the crowd; people turned and looked at the man with disdain.
The man had a purposeful look in his eyes and he continued pushing and nudging his way forward.
After several minutes of pushing and shoving people out of his way the man finally made his way to the front of the crowd.

All the dancers who saw the man they began to smile and soon they began to clap their hands together
in celebration. The man as it turned out was the principal dancer of all the Indians; he was in fact the show.

Now, had the man waited at the back of the crowd asking politely to be lead to the front of the line he never would have taken his rightful place as the principal dancer.

When I tell this story to young black men their eyes open wide and a smile comes on their faces.
I know they got the moral of my story, a moral my beloved grandmother taught me so well so very long ago.

Charles Micheaux
Micheaux Publishing

********************************
You can watch Oscar Micheaux films @ YouTube.

Leave a Reply

