FASTING…

“And the people stood afar off, and Moses drew near unto thick darkness where God was.”
–Exodus

My most cherished friend asked me why I fast; I thought the question she put to me was wonderful:
“Hmmmmmmmmm…why do I fast, no one ever asked me that question before.”
I did not have a ready answer for her, because the question gave me such profound pause and reflection,
reflection in my faith and in my God.

Since ancient times people of faith who long for intimacy with our Creator, God have fasted.
Fasting helps us feel closer to God, to hear His voice, and feel his grace.
Fasting is a spiritual discipline that is invigorating for the soul and it helps deepen one’s walk with God.

Today is my birthday and I can think of no greater gift I can give myself than reaching out with mind, body and soul to God in humility, and the deepest love.

Jesus Christ fasted forty days and forty nights and afterward the devil appeared to entice Jesus.
Jesus rebuked Satan by saying:

“IT IS WRITTEN,
“MAN SHALL NOT LIVE ON BREAD ALONE, BUT ON EVERY WORD THAT PROCEEDS OUT OF THE MOUTH OF GOD.”
–Matthew 4:1-4

My answer to my cherished friend as to why I fast is this:

Food alone will and cannot sustain me, but the living word of God completes my mind, body and soul.
God’s words come alive during and after fasting…trust me, they do!

In the name of Jesus Christ I pray that my written testament is to the glory of Him
who shed his Holy blood on the cross at Calvary.

Charles Micheaux
Atlnata
June 5th 2016

Leave a Reply

