Crispus Attucks… Who’s that?

“When a man has given his best, what else is there.”
–General George S. Patton

Crispus Attucks, a Black man, he was the very first man to die for the freedom of America.
Crispus Attucks was born in Framingham, MA, he was part Native America and part Black American,
his mother was of the Natick Tribe of Native Americans.

Crispus Attucks stood six feet, two inches tall, at the time, the average man was only five feet seven inches tall. Crispus Attucks was a merchant seaman who traveled the world; he spoke four languages.
Crispus Attucks was also an icon of the ant-slavery movement of the 18th century. He was in fact the most out spoken and most eloquent speaker against colonialism, British-tyranny and racism.

The first shots for freedom heard around the world were the two shots that killed Crispus Attucks.
Yes, Crispis Attucks was the leader for freedom in America, he stood firm in his position against
British rule and tyranny from the British Empire; and when he was shot in the chest and those two bullets ripped into his heart, he fell back into the arms of his fellow white countrymen.
Upon the death of Crispus Attucks his fellow white American countrymen took up arms to fight the British to the death for the freedom of America and all Americans that would follow.

The fight for freedom raged on for over five years and it all started with the blood and death of this most beloved American freedom fighter named Crispus Attucks.
Sadly, even today in this 21st century Crispus Attucks is not spoken of in our schools, military, or American history books. Yes, even today most Americans do not know anything about the true history of this country we inhabit called America.

Last week, I was listening to a radio program and the host was talking about Black American history and in her talk she never touched on Crispus Attucks.
I called in to the radio station and I told this woman how I was very appreciative of her effort to have this most important conversation, however, I also expressed my desire to add to the conversation.

I was allowed.

So, I told her about Crispus Attucks; whom she said, on-air that she had never heard of before.

I was not surprised.

I tried as best I could to educate her in the few minutes allowed to me on-air, to share the truthful events of the founding of America. I pray sincerely, that I was able to reach more people than her alone.

Today, even as I write this essay, there are only two national monuments to honor the memory of
Crispus Attucks.

1.
Crispus Attucks High School in Indianapolis, IN the school was built in 1927 and up until 1949 it was the only school Black children in Indianapolis could attend.

2. In Boston, MA. there is a monument in Boston Commons; the monument that honors Crispus Attucks
stands 25 feet high and 10 feet wide. The statue is of Lady Liberty and she holds a broken chain in her
right hand to symbolize freedom and in her left hand she holds the American flag.
With her right foot she crushes the crown of the British monarchy.

When I closed my summation during my radio talk with the host ( A White woman) I did not forget to remind her and the listeners to the fact, when Crispus Attucks was shot and killed for the freedom of
America, there was no confederate flag, there was not a group of krazy, crack-pot crackers calling themselves the KKK.

Jesus said,

“THE TRUTH SHALL MAKE YOU FREE.”

I share a likeness with Crispus Attucks, I too am half Black American and half Native American and I too am a freedom fighter for this 21st century and his memory lives as I live.

Charles Micheaux
Atlanta, Georgia

Leave a Reply

