PRAY! GOD IS ABLE

“Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst for righteousness: for they shall be filled.”
–Matthew 5:6

“A sower went out to sow his seed; and as he sowed, some fell on the path, and was trampled on, and the birds of the air ate it up. Some fell on the rock; and as it grew up, it withered for lack of moisture.
Some fell among thorns, and the thorns grew with it and choked it. Some fell into good soil and grew.”
–Luke 8:5

When we pray, what should we pray for?
I pray for God’s grace, His love, His strength, His mercy and His peace for my soul.
A part from God there is no water to satisfy our thirst.

“If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink.”
–John 7:37

I believe in prayer, for I get down on my knees each morning and I pray and give thanks to the Creator for this wonderful experience called life. I know countless stories on the power of prayer, but there is one, in which I was directly involved that I would like to share now. Some years ago, when I withdrew from the entertainment business, I took a position as a trainer for a Welfare-to-Work company in Baltimore, Maryland. I trained men and women and helped them with social skills that they could secure worthwhile employment. I enjoyed great success as a trainer in helping hundreds of men and women get back into the work force.

There was one woman however that was not having any success in landing a job; I was perplexed, because my methods and training was working for hundreds of other people, but not her. I had a private meeting with this woman in my office and I asked her to tell me what was going on.
She revealed that she had an extensive criminal history and that was the reason no one would hire her.
I hasten to add, this women projected well, was well groomed, spoke well, had grace, was quite attractive, but her prison record put the brakes on every opportunity for employment.

I asked her if she believed in God.
She told me she did.
I explained to her that the situation was much bigger than me or the company; I told her that her situation was a job we must take to God. So, I asked her to give me her hands and together we prayed.
After we prayed, I told her I needed her to stay with me; I was fearful, she might turn to drugs, start to drink, or worse give up on life (Suicide) some people fall and because they feel alone they give up.
I asked her not to give up and to know I was there for her and her fight was my fight.
She and I prayed together for the next three days alone in my office.

It was in the Spring and one morning I was shaving and I heard God’s voice speak to me.
The voice I heard told me the woman was a member of the largest church in the city of
Baltimore, the voice also informed me to tell her to go and see her pastor that very morning for he would be there to see her; it was on a Thursday.

My eyes fill up with water even now.
I drove into work happy and I was listening to a recording of Frank Sinatra singing,
“I’ve Got The World On A String”, the joy I felt was inexplicable.

Before my class was to begin I called the woman over and I asked her:

“You go to the largest church in Baltimore…don’t you?”
She smiled and said:
“I do.”
I was dumbfound and lost my breathe for a moment and then when I got myself together I told her to hurry and go see her pastor. She was taken aback, for she asked me if she could leave that instant.
I said:
“GO! Now.”
She grabbed her belongings and ran with glee out of my classroom.
When I next saw her a week later she had landed a very good job.

She was happy and she and I went into my office and she told me her very remarkable story.

She went to see her pastor and he was there and he did welcome her into his office and he heard her story. After she explained the whole situation her pastor quickly picked up the phone and he called the Judge who had sentenced her to prison.
Come to find out the Pastor and the Judge were both good friends, not only that, the Judge was a member of the same church that this woman went to. The Judge after being informed of the situation asked to speak to the woman and the pastor, her pastor handed the woman the phone.
The Judge invited the woman out to lunch and he also is the one who secured a job for her.

The woman received a great job; with full medical and dental benefits, plus she made forty dollars in tips on top of a very good salary. She also had her meals of breakfast and lunch covered by her employer. She landed a job as a housekeeper at a very exclusive country club.

I am blown away by the power of prayer!
I am in awe of our God who never let’s us down, when we humble ourselves and seek His help in our most crucial hour.

Brothers and Sisters, pray.

Pray, God is able.

Charles Micheaux
Atlanta, Georgia

One thought on “PRAY! GOD IS ABLE

  1. Pingback: PRAY! GOD IS ABLE | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

