“TIME”

“Know the true value of time; snatch, seize, and enjoy every moment of it.
No idleness, no laziness, no procrastination: never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.”
–Sir Chesterfield
(English Statesman & Writer)

One of the things I discovered when I first moved to the great city of Atlanta was, too many people in the city of Atlanta have almost no regard for being on time. The fact one is 30 minutes late is like no big deal.
In New York city you would be tarred and feathered for being late.
There is a very good reason for the phrase “New York Minute”, in New York people have great respect for time.

I would say the first six months in Atlanta I was going bonkers over the nonconcern for being on time.
This popular attitude and disregard for being on time in Atlanta was very perplexing for me, and still is.
Just this past weekend I was invited to a painter’s art studio to possibly purchase a painting from the artist.
We both agreed to meet at 11:00 am sharp, we were to meet at his studio, so I was the one who had to travel.
So strange, the fact we had such a wonderful conversation that Friday, the day before and this fellow really impressed me as being sharp. When you meet this fellow he displays enormous energy and he really did not strike me as the tardy type.

I arrive at his studio at 10:55 am… I call him to say, “I’m here.”
A long pause ( not a good sign) then a tripping of words, then I hear, “I’m on my way!”

Now, if I called him an asshole, would that be too cruel a thing to say?
Yeah, you’re right… not nice of me; scratch that remark from the record.
So, I said, “Look man, 11:00 is the time we agreed, it’s 11:00 I am here you are not, I do not have time,
TIME, I do not have time for you to waste any more of my TIME!”
I hung up the phone.
Would you believe this joker called me back FIVE TIMES!
He actually left me five voice mail messages…all this energy wasted… why?

Just respect the time the first time Bitch!
**************************************************
WHAT IS TIME?
Time is a concept dealing with the order and duration of events.
The sun first provided man’s first clock, the natural time interval being that between successive
passages of the sun over the local meridian–the solar Day.

Time–since Aristotle, and other towering Greek Philosophers have tried to understand the nature of time.
After the work of Issac Newton (1642-1727) many believed time is a thing of many parts.
In short, a good many philosophers held the belief that when an event happened at a particular time
is to mean that the event filled that unit of time.

In life we have good time and bad time, when I got married and during my honeymoon it was a very good time.
Then again, when the ex-wife informed me one day she would not have sex with me again and of the impending divorce,
well, that was a bad time. Not just the fact that the intercourse part was done, but the hi-jacking and robbery of all my worldly materials and resources by the wife and the courts.
Oh yes, that was a very bad time for me indeed.
Since that time I have grown to have great appreciation for Jack Daniels whiskey.

So, I close by saying CHEERS to those of you who respect time.
And to that very tardy crowd that is always LATE, well, let me leave you with a quote by
the English bard.

“Make use of time, let not advantage slip.”
–William Shakespeare

**************************************************
Note to self:

I need to send BABYLON a note requesting that she have her essays and short stories sent in on time.
Now, I must remember to be kind, creative, humble, when I write to her.
I must not remind her of all the times she has made me scream and cry and rant like a child.
Yes, I will send BABYLON a very sweet note about time, but I must be firm and resolute.

But will she respect the note or simply laugh at me as she has so many times before… I wonder?

irunbabylon@twitter

Charles Micheaux
Micheaux Publishing
Atlanta*

One thought on ““TIME”

  1. Pingback: “TIME” | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

