# Poetry : Memorial at Arlington

“Each contact with a human being is so rare, so precious, one should preserve it.”
–Anais Nin
*******************************************************************************************

The green grass, the colorful array of flowers sway, the benign wind blows silent as the canary yellow butterfly
flutters exquisitely under a life giving Sun.

The Savannah Sparrow darts from each magnificent headstone all the while the soft wind lifts the American flag again;
I imagine the sound of the soldier’s trumpet in the recess of my solitude.

The unadorned cross speaks without words; my eyes fill with moisture and I try hard not to blink, the subtle wind transports the fragrance of fresh roses and helps along my tears, once more.

*****************************
This is a poem I wrote for Yahoo in 2012 when I was a contributor for Yahoo.

Charles Micheaux
Atlanta*

Leave a Reply

