Opened a secret letter

Gibson’s Steak-Fish-House
Chicago, Il

FICTION

A mother and daughter are meeting for a lunch date in one of Chicago’s favorite food spots in the city.

“Good afternoon ladies… what are we having today?” Smiled the waiter.

Mother:
I think I’ll try the Australian Lobster Tail and let’s see… I think, I’ll have the Loaded Wedge Salad with Blue Cheese.

Waiter:
And you miss, what can we get for you today?

Daughter:
I’ll have the Bone-In-Sirloin 16 oz with a Caesar Salad; can we see a wine menu?

Waiter:
Sure, I’ll be right back!

Mother:
Did you know Mel Gibson owns this place? He does…
Grace, I’m so proud of you… you studied hard in school, you have a great job with the city and you are married to one of the most promising young ministers in Chicago.
Frankly speaking, I really don’t know how you and Oscar could afford such a lavish wedding.
I’m curious, what was the final cost?

Daughter:
Mother…mother. Really.
Oscar and I, we just pooled our money together and everything worked out.

Mother:
Now Grace, you are talking to the woman who raised you remember?
I raised you to tell the truth, so tell me, how much was your wedding?

Daughter:
Mother…please.

Mother:
Look if you can’t trust your mother, who can you trust?
How much did your wedding cost?

Daughter:
We spent a good amount of money…can we please just leave it at that!

Mother:
I’m not going to let this go my darling…now how much was your wedding?

Daughter:
Mother please! Stop it now.
I thought we would have a very enjoyable lunch together.
I feel so uncomfortable answering that question…can we please talk about something else?

Mother:
O.K. let’s talk about the Chicago Cubs…no, no, let’s talk about Donald Trump then!
I’m so hurt, my own daughter has no trust in the woman who brought her into the world and raised her.
I have tried my best to be a good mother to you and this is the way you treat me, I am hurt more than you know.

Daughter:
MOTHER. You have made your point!
Oscar and I spent $57,000 on our wedding…NOW.
Are you happy?

(Tears fall quickly from her daughters face, she pulls a tissue from her purse and softly blows her nose.)

Mother:
GRACE.
Dear, what’s the matter?

Daughter:
It’s nothing.

Mother:
Grace there is something you are not telling me and I want to know what it is that has you in tears.

Grace:
Mother, I feel so lost!

Mother:
Darling, my baby, what has you so upset?

Daughter:
It’s Oscar.

Mother:
What happened to Oscar he’s not sick?

Daughter:
No, nothing like that.

Mother:
Well, what’s going on?

Daughter:
Oscar went on a business trip recently to Miami and one day I went through his brief case and I found letters and poems written to him by a woman who claims to be madly in love with MY husband.

Mother:
OSCAR? No way! OSCAR? Oh my God! What is the world coming to?
Donald Trump is our president and Oscar Jackson has an affair with some bitch in Miami?
This world is surely going to hell.

Daughter:
Mother, I don’t want to lose my husband.

Mother:
I understand.
Oscar is a good man and I know he loves you.
What you need to fix is what and why did he go astray.

Daughter:
That bitch in Miami.
Whoever she is, she will not take my husband from me.
I don’t care how many love letters she writes to him.

Mother:
So you found love letters?
Well did she actually say she loved Oscar?
Did she ask him to leave his wife?
Darling, this could be just a stupid little fling that means absolutely nothing.

Daughter:
I have the letters with me.
I want you to read them for yourself!
This bitch is in love with my husband.
You read this!

Mother:
Let me see…

Daughter:
Here.
Read them.

Mother:
Hold on, I got to find my glasses…
O.K. now then,

“RECEIVE THIS SIGN,
THE PERFECT FLOWER,
TOKEN GIVEN OF THIS HOUR,
THOUGH IT”S PETALS PALE A DAY WITHER,
WHAT WE WORSHIP LIVES FOREVER.”

Hmmmmmmmm… she’s a good writer that’s for sure.

Grace, I still think it’s just a little fling that’s all.

Daughter:
Mother you don’t get it!
This bitch is seriously trying to steal my husband from me.
Here read this!

Mother:
You have another one?
O.K. listen Grace, I’m trying to help you keep the proper perspective that’s all.

Daughter:
No.
Fuck perspective!
You read this, just read this!

Mother:
O.K.
( The mother exhales, then sighs sadly)

What do we have here…

“SEAMAN AGED, EXPLODED.
RESURRECTED AGAIN RICH WITH THE ELEMENTS OF LIFE.
WITH HER PROTECTED CORE AND FERTILE FIELDS, RAIN FELL
FROM HIS COCK THAT FORMED SEAS ON THE CRADLE OF HER BELLY.

HE ENTERS HER SMALL COSMIC CAVE.
WITH EACH TOUCH HER BODY FORMED WITH HANDS THAT GRASPS.
INSIDE HER BRAIN IS FILLED WITH EMPTY WORDS.
HE HUNGRY FOR WORDS THAT FILL.
SHE GRANTS HIM A PIECE OF HER.
SHE DECLARES GRANDEUR OF HIS RADIANCE AS HE RAVAGES THE CONQUERED ANGEL.”

My goodness! This is serious.

One thought on “Opened a secret letter

  1. Pingback: Opened a secret letter By BABYLON | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

