BLIND CONFESSION – Fiction

“There was the door which I found no key, there was the veil through which I might not see.”
–Omar Khayyam

Holy Trinity Church
Warsaw, Poland

“Confession”

Priest:
How long since your last confession?

Russian Man:
never have I made confession.

Priest:
And why have you never confessed?

Russian Man:
I am Russian and most of my life I am atheist.

Priest:
I see…and why have you come today?

Russian Man:
I come, to, to, I, I come, for advice…I need to talk with someone like you.

Priest:
I see… go on my son, tell me what is so heavy on your heart.

Russian Man:
My wife, Agnieszka, she, she, she, SLEEP with another man and she, she become pregnant with his child.

Priest:
I see…hmmmmmmmmm…and how do you know it is not your child?

Russian Man:
My wife have ABORTION!

Priest:
I see… and how do you know your wife had an abortion; did she tell you herself?

Russian Man:
NO. My friend daughter she work at Abortion clinic and she tell her father, this how I learn.

Priest:
I see, now, does your wife know that you know she had this abortion?

Russian Man:
NO.

Priest:
I see…have you decided to tell her?

Russian Man:
YES!

Priest:
I see…do you have any children now?

Russian Man:
No.

Priest:
Hmmmmmm… I see…how long have you been married?

Russian Man:
Three years.

Priest:
Do you or your wife have any children outside your marriage?

Russian Man:
No.

Priest:
Tell me my son, how can I help you?

Russian Man:
I do not know God, I want to know Him, so I come here to talk with you.
I read Bible and God say to Noah: “As for you, be fruitful and multiply on the earth and increase upon it.”
–Genesis 9:7
Is this a lie?

Priest:
No. That is what the Bible says.

Russian Man:
I cannot be fruitful…my seaman no good, my wife she have another man seaman in her…
I dream too much she go with him. You tell me TRUTH!
You love woman before?

Priest:
My son…we are not talking about me.

Russian Man:
You tell me truth!
You love woman before?

Priest:
My son, please?

Russian Man:
I know stories of Priest have sex with young boys…no?
You tell me truth, you make love to woman before?
All men want to make love to women, no?

Priest:
My son, I cannot help you if you don’t help me, now please tell me what I can do to help you today?

Russian Man:
TELL ME…TRUTH!!!

Priest:
My son, please lower your voice…I do want to help you, but you must want my help.

Russian Man:
Can God hear us now? Tell me truth!
Can your God hear us now?
Can your God hear you lying to me?

Priest:
I’m sorry my son, I fear I cannot help you.

Russian Man:
Why are you here?
You say you fear … how do you fear helping me?
Your God, this is His house…yes?
Why do you pretend to be something you are not?

Priest:
Yes, this is God’s house.
Your questions I find inappropriate and disrespectful.

Russian man:
How are truthful questions to you in appropriate?
I have only asked you for the truth and I have only told you the truth.

Priest:
My son, I would like to help you if I could.

Russian Man:
I come to you and tell you TRUTH about me and my wife, I come in God’s house and I seek the truth, yet you hide the truth. How is it possible you can help a man like me when you hide the truth?
Priest do lie!
I know this…
You call me son, yet you have never been a real father to anyone.
Please explain why I should call you father and you continue to say you would like to help me nut you fear you cannot.
This is confusing.
Am I really in God’s house?
I only come here for the truth.

Priest:
Your problems are beyond me my son.
I recommend you speak with a psychiatrist.

Russian Man:
Why does God have this house when you are nothing more than an actor?
You say this is God’s house yet I do not feel you are interested in helping me in my hour of despair.

Priest:
My son, I want to help you, really, that is why I am here.

Russian Man:
I think you lie to me as those Priest who lie to little boys and take them to have sex.
I know Priest do lie, I think you lie too much.

Priest:
My son you are wrong.

Russian Man:
Talking with you I feel nothing…only emptiness.
Your words are weak and absent of hope and sincerity.
The Bible speaks of a God who is all powerful and yet you display only weakness and uncertainty.

Priest:
My son, I am truly sorry you feel that way.

Russian Man:
You continue to call me your son, yet I feel no warmth, no empathy, no truth comes from your lips.
Is your God here now, He cannot be pleased with you calling yourself father and pretending to be something other than who you really are which is nothing more than an actor in some Chekhov play.

Priest:
Well now, is there anything else you wish to tell me before I leave you?

Russian Man:
Can you see me?

Priest:
No, why do you ask?

Russian Man:
I was born blind and I cannot see you either.

Charles Micheaux
Ochos Rios, Jamaica

One thought on “BLIND CONFESSION – Fiction

  1. Pingback: BLIND CONFESSION – Fiction | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

