Jamal is our only witness – Fiction

“God brings men into deep waters, not to drown them, but to cleanse them.” –John Aughey

CHICAGO TRIBUNE
‘Nearing 400 Killings in Chicago’
At least six people were killed this weekend in the city of Chicago; two people were shot and killed on Sunday in Park Manor on the South Side.
*****************************************************************************************

Cook County Hospital
Chicago, Il
10:00 P.M.

Lord, I’m so tired of all this killin’…I’m just so worn out from the utter madness of so much senseless violence going around. Every where I turn there’s some poor soul done been killed.
Sheesh! Our kids ain’t even safe no more. Not safe in school, or home even.
God help my city.

I got to go in that hospital room there and talk with this child and find out what happened and how his momma was killed. The horror this poor child will have to endure for the rest of his life is something no child should have to bear. I feel so empty inside.
I am tired, I’m numb and dumb; I feel too small to question this boy even though it’s my job as a homicide detective for the city of Chicago.

I wish someone could tell me how to best approach this boy.
I’ve never had to interview a child who was at the tender age of 10.
The cross before me is too heavy for me, so heavy right now.
Father, God help me…no other help I know, if you turn away from me Lord, where shall I turn?
I need your grace and blessing now…Amen.

Dr.Kelly:
“Excuse me detective, you may go in and question the patient now if you must.

Detective:
Thank you Dr. Kelly, I just need a minute if you don’t mind, I’ll go in shortly.

Dr. Kelly:
Sure thing detective.

(Detective rises from his chair and walks slowly into the hospital room.)

Detective:
Hey there… you sleep?
You think we can talk for a little while?
Hey, let me see your hand… can you squeeze my hand?
Can you squeeze it a little harder? Yeah that’s good!
Now. I need you to tell me what happened to your momma today?
Do you know how this man got into your house?
Did you ever see the man before?
I need you to tell me everything that happened today, can you do that for me?

Here drink some Apple juice…can I get you something to eat, are you hungry?

Boy:
I saw, him, the man, I saw him this morning…I never saw him before this morning.
I, I, skipped school and I came home…my mother, she went to work and I, I, I was in my room watching TV when I heard
my mother at the door and she was talking with this man.
I cut the TV off and got under my bed; I was on the floor trying to hide from my mother.

My mother and the man, they, they, they ummm, they was doing the nasty.
My dog Charger ran into the room and he jumped on the man and he began to bite the man and the man grabbed his gun and he shot Charger!

I ran from under my bed and I ran over to Charger on the floor and the man pointed his gun at me and my mother she picked up a lamp and hit the man over the head. The man he fell to the floor and that’s when I picked up his gun.
The man he got up and he ran over to my mother and he started to choke her.
He kept choking her until she fell to the floor.
The man looked at me and hollered for me to drop his gun.
He cursed at me.

Detective:
Here drink some more Apple juice.

Then what happened?

Boy:
The man kicked my mother and I told him to stop!
He kept doing it, and that’s when I shot him.

Detective:
How many times did you shoot him?

Boy:
I don’t remember, I just kept pulling the trigger until the man fell to the floor and he didn’t move anymore.
I killed him?

And then, I just got hot and I fell to the floor. And that’s all what happened.

Mr. Jamal,
am I in trouble?

Charles Micheaux
Ocho Rios, Jamaica

One thought on “Jamal is our only witness – Fiction

  1. Pingback: Jamal is our only witness – Fiction | MICHEAUX PUBLISHING

Leave a Reply

