Denise Oliver Velez -Profile

“I suppose that it has always been difficult to be a writer. Writers tell us so; and so does the history of any given time or place and what one knows of the world’s indifference.”–James Baldwin

Writer- Denise Oliver Velez

Denise Oliver Velez is an artist, activist, anthropologist, writer -highly intelligent person who inspires us each day with her wisdom and superb writings. Denise is that one person who reminds me of James Baldwin. I have been following her for the past three years and each week I learn something new. I highly recommend everyone to follow her on Twitter- @Deoliver47

Thank you for granting me this interview today.

Q.) Tell me, what is your ambition for 2022?

A.) To work harder at GOTV and to stress to young people not to walk away from the electoral process. We stand on the shoulders of our ancestors who fought, were beaten, jailed, and some died for that right.

Q.) What is your connection to Puerto Rico?

A.) I grew up with, hung out with, and have family members including my husband who is Puerto Rican. As a member of the Young Lords Party, I developed strong ties to Puerto Rican struggles.

Q.) If President Biden asked you how he could help Puerto Rico right now, what would you tell him?

A.) To help them gain self-determination.

Q.) What is the best investment you’ve ever made?

A.) Buying a farm where I could be comfortable practicing my African diasporic religion.

Q.) What is your favorite vacation spot?

A.) The Caribbean- I especially love St. Thomas and Barbados.

Q.) Where were you born?

A.) Brooklyn, NY.

Q.) What do you hope for?

A.) An end to systemic racism. I know I won’t live to see it-but hopefully I can help make that timeline shorter.

Q.) Who were your heroes in high school?

A.) Mrs. Fannie Lou Hamer, Paul Robeson, Malcolm X, James Baldwin, Langston Hughes and Audre Lorde.

Q.) Who was your favorite high school teacher?

A.) Mrs. Winston-who made sure the art students in her classes at the High School of Music & Art had excellent supplies

(Her husband owned an art supply store)

I also have to add trumpeter Donald Byrd- who taught jazz chorus.

Q.) What’s your favorite quote?

A.) “If you’re in a coalition and you’re comfortable, you know it’s not broad enough coalition.” – Bernice Johnson Reagon

Q.) What role did James Baldwin play in your life?

A. His writing entranced me. However it was not just his writing; I remember watching him debate William F. Buckley in 1965-and my whole family watched-and we were cheering him wipe the floor intellectually with an arrogant, condescending white man was one of the high points of my young life.

Q.) Do you remember the first time you met James Baldwin?

A.) Yes, it was in the south of France, while I was traveling with Kathleen Cleaver.

Q.) Who is your favorite poet?

A.) Langston Hughes and Pedro Pietri.

Q.) What is the thrust of your Twitter platform?

A.) I try as much as I can to post history-and, I made a promise (a promesa) to post something about Puerto Rico everday.

Q.) When did you start writing?

A.) I started writing when I was very young-3rd or 4th grade.

Q.) When did you first read Anne Frank-Diary of A Young Girl?

A. I think I was in the 5th grade-not sure. However, since I grew up in a Hasidic Jewish neighborhood in Brooklyn I grew up with stories of the Holocaust from people who survived it.

Q.) Over the years you’ve profiled the most accomplished recording artist of the last 100 years; who is your favorite recording artist?

A.) That’s tough…it would be easier to list them by genre, I have favorites.

John Coltrane, Nina Simone, Ella Fitzgerald, Sweet Honey in the Rock, Buffy Saint Marie, Laura Nyro, and Eddie Plamieri.

Q.) What is your greatest accomplishment?

A.) Helping build, and out the first Black controlled public radio station on the air-WPF-FM in Washington, D.C.

Q.) If you could have a gigantic billboard anywhere in New York City, with anything on it, what would it say?

A.) Police the police.

Q.) If you were asked to give a lecture at NYU about the Black Panther Party what would you tell the audience that they do not know about the Black Panthers?

A.) The Free Breakfast Program (which resulted in cities finally doing the same) it wasn’t just about feeding children’s bodies-we also fed their minds as they ate. Our children are our future.

*******************

Dear friends, please follow Denise on Twitter…@Deoliver47

Charles Micheaux

Atlanta*

Author: Charles Micheaux is a classically trained actor and orator. He lives in Atlanta.

Charles Micheaux is an orator & philosopher. Charles has been a professional speaker since September 9th 1997. His highest honor is receiving a personal letter from Rosa Parks for his work in Baltimore, Maryland. Charles is a classically trained actor and orator. Charles makes his home in Atlanta.

Leave a comment